Frontend Interview Experience at Project44

ยท

4 min read

Frontend Interview Experience at Project44

Hello folks,
I had the opportunity to interview recently at Project44, a US-based Supply Chain Management Platform for the Software Engineer - Frontend role. This role is more inclined towards the frontend domain & I will share my interview experience in this post.

How did I get to know about this opportunity?

An employee working at Project44 had forwarded a message on the React Jobs Telegram community sharing details about the openings & the company. I applied directly on the company career website for the frontend role. The recruiter contacted me over a call & scheduled the subsequent interview rounds.

You can join the React Jobs Telegram community to get latest updates on the companies hiring for frontend role.

Interview Rounds

In total, there are 5 rounds:

  • HackerRank Coding Round

  • DSA Problem Solving Round

  • Hiring Manager Round

  • UI Tech Machine Coding Round

  • Culture Fit RoundCulture Fit Round

HackerRank Coding Round

Duration: 60 minutes

This was a machine coding round to be solved using React. The problem statement was to build the basic features of a notes listing app. Boilerplate code including JSX template of note, CSS were already provided. I was supposed to add functionality to add, edit & delete a note. It was a fairly easy task & time provided was sufficient to complete it. Types for each function & state were expected since the boilerplate was in Typescript.

DSA Problem Solving Round

Duration: 60 minutes

This round consisted of 2 medium-level LeetCode questions to be solved in an hour. I used Javascript to solve both of them. I discussed a few approaches to solve the problems & the interviewer guided me to arrive at the optimal solution. The two questions were as follows:

After solving the second question, I learnt a new concept of key ordering in Javascript objects. The numeric keys of objects are ordered before any other primitive keys. You can check out this article to learn more.

Hiring Manager Round

Duration: 60 minutes

This was a techno-managerial round. We discussed the frontend role, the team I would be working with, the tech stack & company culture. The interviewer was the manager of the team I would be joining. I asked a few questions regarding ownership of work, engineering management & vision of the company. The problem solved by the company & the challenges of the supply chain domain were discussed. The interviewer asked about my expectations from the company & its culture.
Move the given number in the array towards the end of the array was the only DSA question asked in this round. I shared feedback on the previous interview rounds with the interviewer.

UI Tech Machine Coding Round

Duration: 90 minutes

The problem statement was to fetch a list of shipments from a backend API endpoint & show them in a tabular format. On clicking any shipment row, fetch the details of the corresponding shipment from a backend API endpoint & open a side drawer to show all the shipment details. React was the only library allowed to be used for solving this. No CSS library was permitted. 90 minutes were assigned to complete this task. I solved all the use cases & showcased the working demo within the timeline. Follow-up questions on improving the performance and adding caching functionality were asked.

Following output-based Javascript questions were also asked after the completion of this task.

const a = {
    dev: 'hi',
    update: name => {
        this.dev = name
    }
}
a.update('hello')
console.log(a.dev)
// Output: hi
var a = 'hi'
let b = 'hello'
console.log(this.a)
console.log(this.b)
// Output:
// hi 
// undefined
function func() {
    try {
        console.log(1)
        return
    } catch (e) {
        console.log(2)
    } finally {
        console.log(3)
    }
    console.log(4)
}
func()
// Output: 1 3

Culture Fit Round

Duration: 45 minutes

We discussed my work at the current company and my contributions to the projects delivered. Also, discussed about the company, team members & overall culture.
To my surprise, one DSA question String Permutations was also asked in this round.

Conclusion

Two days after finishing the interviews, the recruiter informed me that I had cleared all the rounds & I was selected for the Software Engineer - Frontend role ๐Ÿ˜. I negotiated with the recruiter & it worked out very well for me in the end.

Thank you, guys, for reading up till here, I hope you enjoyed and learnt something new! You can connect with me on X, LinkedIn & GitHub.

Happy Coding! โœŒ๏ธ

Interview Experience Series

In this series on Hashnode, I've compiled advice, resources, and real-world interview experiences to help you prepare for your front-end developer interview.

ย